5 Amazing Books I Would Not Have Read Without Goodreads

Since Goodreads, and particuarly my friends on Goodreads, help me find many of the books I read, I thought it would be fun to make a short list of books I would not have read if I hadn’t been on Goodreads.  This was harder than initially I thought.  I’ve been on Goodreads three years now, so it is hard to really know what I would be reading today without it.

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 10.02.03 AM

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking
by Susan Cain

Quiet is the very first book I would not have read without Goodreads, and I was not even on Goodreads at the time!  I don’t follow best sellers lists (and likely never will), so I would not have found it that way.  My sister was on Goodreads at the time and said this book about introverts had been nominated as a Goodreads Choice Award.  After seeing what it was about, we reserved it at the library.   This book is now among my favorite non-fiction books.

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 10.10.55 AMDear Mr. Knightley 
by Katherine Reay

I found this book because one of the groups I had joined on Goodreads read this as their book of the month. I had been wanting to join in the book of the month reads, this book looked interesting, and almost everyone in the group was loving it.  It’s a contemparary retelling of Daddy Long Legs, which I had not previously read.  I ended up liking this better then the original.  Oops!

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 10.18.41 AMCinder 
by Marissa Meyer

Okay, so I had previously seen this book on the book blogs I followed at the time.  While most of them liked it, I was not convinced.  You see, I didn’t like the cover.  I’m still not a huge fan of the cover, but books are more than their covers.  Practically all my Goodreads friends were reading this book and loving it.  It’s a lot harder for me to ignore that many good recommendations of this book.  So I read it.  While I didn’t love this as much as most people seem to, it was still a good retelling.
Now I just need to read the rest of the series.

 

 

3625463Blended 
by L.Y. Levand

When I’m really busy and don’t have much time to read, I like reading really short books or novellas.  This way I still feel like I am reading, but it is not taking me a month to finish a book.  I asked my Goodreads friends for recommendations, and came to find out that one of my friend wrote this novelette!  It was perfect for my busy schedule, and I very much enjoyed it.

 

 

A Time to DieA Time to Die
by Nadine Brandes

There are many debut novels I probably would not have found without Goodreads.  This is one of them.  It came highly recommended from Goodreads friends, included Sierra.  So I read it.  But I was not impressed.  I had no intention of continuing the series, but some people can be very persuasive, particularly Sierra and Nadine Brandes (yes, the author contacted me, thanking me for an honest review, and I basically died).  I am very glad I gave the sequel, A Time to Speak, a chance.  I really liked it and am eagerly awaiting the final book in the series!

 

 

Have you read any of these books?  
Where do you find your book recommendations?
 Are there any books you found because of Goodreads?

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

7 thoughts on “5 Amazing Books I Would Not Have Read Without Goodreads

  1. A Time to Die is also a book I discovered through Goodreads! Same with Jupiter Winds by C.J. Darlington, which is now one of my favorites.

    I love Goodreads. :)

    Like

  2. Elisabeth says:

    I have been recommended Quiet so many times! Clearly, there’s something to it.

    For me, finding Goodreads was like opening the wardrobe. So many books and authors! I use it less now, but am still pretty active with keeping track of my reading goals. Seriously, I love that site.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rivka Ray says:

      You should seriously find some time to read Quiet. It is worth it.

      That is a great analogy! I often look up books on there to check out reviews before I read them. I love tracking the books I read too. I hadn’t really done that before joining. It’s just awesome :)

      Like

  3. I WAS THE SAME WAY WITH CINDER. STILL AM THE SAME WAY WITH CINDER.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AllyR. says:

    I read Dear Mr. Knightley also because of Goodreads, and I’m so glad! Good book, and I actually liked it better than Daddy-Long-Legs too, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rivka Ray says:

      Yeah, definitely glad I found it. Have you read any of the other books by that author? (I haven’t, but I want to). Ah, so someone else liked it better then the original too! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

