Book Review: Songkeeper by Gillian Bronte Adams

Today is release for Gillian Bronte Adam’s Songkeeper!

12961666_877678142341174_3275023266273107717_n.jpg

Genre: Christian, Fantasy.

Age Range: 15+ for violence.

Favorite Quote: “I’ve freed you once tonight, and I would rather not do it again. I prefer to commit treason as few times as possible.”

Series: Book two in the Songkeeper Chronicles, needs to be read in order.

Stars: 5 out of 5 stars.

I love this book and the characters. I was sucked into the story and everyone’s life. If you’re a lover of action packed fantasies, pick this series up!

I find it unique that the series isn’t just focused on two teenagers, but we get an adult as a main character, too! And Amos is a great main character at that! I love his humor, his lilt and his relationship with Birdie. I’m glad we get to know a little more about him in this book.

We finally get to see more of Ky and the underground! The underground is an organization of teens and kids who live underground, obviously, and steal to feed themselves. It’s quite an interesting network! Gillian did an amazing job of developing the personalities of all the minor characters, which were quite a few! Throughout the book, I wanted to squeeze Ky and fend off anyone who dared hurt him. I feel so bad for him… and I can’t say why because of spoilers. Ky has matured greatly because of his experiences, he is, a lot stronger and a great leader, . He was so protective of Meli, a young girl from the underground. He’s going to make a great father one day!

Birdie is an interesting protagonist. She’s so confused about the song and her family, and no one can answer her questions. I really felt for her and her struggles, and at the end I cried for her and was ready to hurt everyone who even looked at her wrong. I like her a lot more in this book, and she’s currently competing with Ky for my favorite character. She’s stronger, bolder and just plain out awesome.

I thought it was different that there were lions in this book! Riding horses is outdated, apparently. It was really unique and I wish they were there throughout the whole book.

I have to talk about Gundhrold, the griffin. He was quite an interesting character! He wants to help Birdie, but more often than not he isn’t around when she was in trouble. I love the conversations between Gundhrold and Amos! Amos wants “his girl” to stay safe and sound, and away from all the action. While Gundhrold thinks she is perfectly fine out there and no harm will come to her. So they clash often, which makes for some great conversations!

Highlight to read minor spoiler. Won’t effect you unless you’ve read the first book. I didn’t really like the betrayal that happened. It was almost identical to the one in the first book, and it was obvious (to me at least) that he wasn’t to be trusted. EEnd spoiler.

You Might Want to Know:
     There is a scene at the end that is scary/creepy, so I would caution young readers.

About the Author:

1908106_668009453308045_3174222189492770829_n.jpg

I’m a sword-wielding, horse-riding, coffee-loving speculative fiction author! Blog and Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I received this book from the author, Gillian Bronte Adams, and the publisher, Enclave Publishing, in exchange for my honest review.

About sierrafaith327

I am a 18 year old Christian, Homeschooled, book addict :D That sums me up in one sentence! I also have a love for horses.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Songkeeper by Gillian Bronte Adams

  1. […] Phenomenal! Review here. […]

    Like

  2. […] everyone! I am here today with, Gillian Bronte Adams! She wrote the amazing Songkeeper which I raved about, and I am so excited to have her here today. Let’s get […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

