Mini Book/Audio Review: Eldest by Christopher Paolini

Eldest_book_cover

Title:  Eldest

Author: Christopher Paolini

Genre: Fantasy

Series?  book 2 of 4 in the Inheritance Cycle

POV: Third person, past tense. Multiple narrators.

Cliffhanger?  Yeah

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

Amazon | Barnes & Nobels | Goodreads | Author’s Website

About the Book (from Goodreads)
Darkness falls …Despair abounds …Evil reigns …Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in magic and swordsmanship, the vital skills of the Dragon Rider.

It is the journey of a lifetime, filled with awe-inspiring new places and people, each day a fresh adventure. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and Eragon isn’t sure whom he can trust. Meanwhile, his cousin Roran must fight a new battle back home in Carvahall – one that puts Eragon in even graver danger. Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life.

My Thoughts
This was definitely an enjoyable book.  There were parts that seemed to drag on longer than needed, especially in the middle.  Despite it’s need to cut some scenes, there was enough in the story to redeem it.  I mean, they spend most of the book with the elves!!  Elves are definitely my favorite fantasy creature.  And there is plenty Saphira.  She is by far the best character in these books!

There was good character development, and plenty of surprises.  And once again, the ending made the book.  Ugh, that ending!  Yeah, I starting the next book the same day over that ending.  I’m glad I had the next one on hand!

Audio Review
The audio for this book was Amazing!!  Definitely one of the best audio books.  The reader, Gerard Doyle, was really easy to follow.  It was very clear who was speaking.  It was also very clear if a character was thinking or if the character was speaking aloud.  There is some background music during certain scenes, and they are well placed.

 

Content: Moderate violence. Made up swearing.  Mild sexual references. Some drinking/drunkenness.

I read this book last year, and wrote the review soon after.  I didn’t include the content though, so I don’t remember the details.

Have you read this book or series?  
What did you think?  Any other dragon
book recommendations?

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

3 thoughts on “Mini Book/Audio Review: Eldest by Christopher Paolini

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Paolini can be a bit wordy, but this and Brisingr are tied as the best books of the series, at least in my mind. They were the books that suckered me into braving the lines to get the man’s signature when the fourth book came out. (Worth it, though.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lucia says:

    I finished Eragon recently so this book is my next stop. I don’t know of other series with dragons but I’ll look for you! I’m actually curious myself

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

