Caught Between Two Worlds: The Novelette Review of Blended

I’ve been getting into novellas and short stories lately.  Did you know there is a difference between a novelette, a short story, and a novella?  Neither did I!  And I’m not quite sure I can explain it either.  However, they are all shorter than a full length novel, and that is exactly what I want to read right now.  Be on the lookout for a plethora of novella (the word I’ve been using for all of them) reviews coming your way!

3625463Title:  Blended

Author: L. Y. Levand

Genre: Fantasy

Series?  Standalone Novelette

POV:  third person, past tense, two narrators

Cliffhanger? No

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

Amazon | Goodreads | Author’s Website
Only $0.99 and free with Kindle Unlimited!

About the Book (from author’s website)
Yern has spent her life behind walls, locked into a life she finds rigid and strict. Since she was a child, she has escaped in secret to the forbidden plains beyond the city walls, to a place where she can be free.

But a summons from the king heralds an arranged marriage, and she lacks the political and societal power to refuse. The discovery of her secret is imminent, and the time she is forced to spend with the man who is to be her husband begs the question: can he be trusted?

But that’s not all she must ask herself. Faced with the choice, which of her two worlds will she choose – the gilded cage, or the wild place that makes her blood sing?

My Thoughts
This is a wonderful story of a girl figuring out where she belongs in the world.  She is caught between two worlds, and two parts of herself.  She must make a choice, but both would mean her life will dramatically change.

The story was slightly confusing at first, because I did not know this world very well.  It picks up rather quickly though!  I was caught up in Yern’s struggle to decide what she would do.  I loved learning more and more about the world as I read.

I loved Larr and Yern’s relationship.  I really felt that they had come to respect each other a great deal, even in the short time I saw them together.  And I loved the ending!  I would consider it a very realist happily-ever-after :)  I would definitely recommend this for fantasy lovers.

Content: Clean Read!

 

Have you read any novelettes/short-stories/novellas?  What are your favorites?

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

3 thoughts on “Caught Between Two Worlds: The Novelette Review of Blended

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I admit I was a bit turned off by the minimalist cover, but 4.5 stars and a realist HEA? I guess the judging books by their covers adage applies here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rivka Ray says:

      I’ll be the first to admit reading books simply because the cover is gorgeous, but after several disappointments, I’m trying to not judge so much. If only we could look at covers and know for sure if we would enjoy the book!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

