Mini Review: The Exile Queen

EQ_coverTitle:  The Demon King

Author: Cinda Williams Chima

Genre: Fantasy

Series?  Book 2 of 4

POV: Third person, past tense, multiple narrators.

Cliffhanger?  Unknown

My Rating: 1 of 5 stars

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Author’s Website

DNF page 306.
I liked the Demon King. I wasn’t expecting this book to be amazing or anything, but I was expecting more than this.

I just can’t do it anymore. I kept thinking it would get more interesting. It’s not. And I’m hating Han more and more every time I pick the book up. Sure he is street smart. He proved that in the first book. He also spent the first book trying to leave the street life behind. Now all he does is use his street smarts to get revenge. Every decision he has made since the book started is completely stupid. I can’t put up with him! I cannot believe how petty the plot became. And if the author uses the words “put on trader face” one more time…..

Raisa was boring and unbelievable. I didn’t care about her anymore. This is suppose to be her big running away scheme, but it had a completely different feel than her scheming in the first book.

I wanted to like this, but I’m so disappointed by it! :(

 

Content: pretty much the same as the previous book.  Kissing, made up swear words, an addition of a gay couple.  Another reviewer said there in an inappropriate romance scene. I didn’t make it that far..

 

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

4 thoughts on “Mini Review: The Exile Queen

  1. Elisabeth says:

    1 star? I was scared to read the review because I wanted to read this, but…ouch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There was definitely an inappropriate scene later. And I know! I wanted to like this book so badly! :(

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

