Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

soundless

Title:  Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: Fairy-tale, Folklore

Series?  Stand-alone

POV: First person, present tense, one narrator.

Cliffhanger?  Nope!

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Author’s Website

About the Book (from Goodreads)
For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.

Richelle Mead takes readers on a triumphant journey from the peak of Fei’s jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiugo, where a startling truth and an unlikely romance will change her life forever…

My Thoughts
I don’t know how to describe the fabulousness of this book!  I have been trying to write this review all morning, and I’m not sure where to start!

I went into this book both excitedly and nervously.  I have never read anything by this author, and I still have no intention go back and read her other books.  They just don’t sound interesting to me.  The day I picked Soundless up from the library, I had seen several negative reviews for it. This made me hesitant, but really, who can say no to the promise of Chinese folklore and that gorgeous cover?  I’m glad I read it.  It was sooooo worth it!

Don’t go into this book expecting an epic fantasy either.  It is nothing of the sort.  I’d say it has a very fairy-tale feel to it.  It does claim to be based in Chinese folklore after all.  And it is more than just the names that distinguish this book as Chinese.  I may have missed it before I took my Chinese language class, but the whole book had an underlying Chinese feel to it.  It’s not very obvious, but it’s there.  And the food they ate was very Chinese.  Not necessarily what we Americans think when we go to a Chinese restaurant, but Chinese all the same.  I mean, they were picking persimmons off trees!! I wish a persimmon tree would grow where I live!

Soundless is about a village where everyone has lost their hearing.  Fei, our main character, regains her hearing one night.  It scares her, and she does not know how to live with hearing.  I can’t image living without hearing, and Fei is struggling to figure out life with hearing.  It made me stop and think so many times.  As I write this, I can hear my sister downstairs in the kitchen.  I would not be able to know she was in the kitchen or hear her coming upstairs without my hearing!  This book made me rethink an entire sense that I usually take for granted.

Because the village cannot hear, there is no dialogue in Soundless.  Not to worry though, the villagers communicate through sign language.  How cool is that?!  An entire book where people communicate with sign language!  The writing is beautiful.  It allows you to feel the story.  After the first chapter, I was amazed at how each sentence is packed with emotion.  It’s just beautiful!  And sometimes heartbreaking.

I have seen some reviews complaining about the love interest.  I’ll admit, Fei and Li Wei’s relationship is sweet, but not swoon worthy.  That is because the love they share is not the point of the book.  The relationship that really drives Fei is the one she has with her sister Zhang Jing.  There are not enough young adult books that focus on close sibling relationships.  And I think they are beautiful.

I don’t know what else to say except – GO READ IT!!!

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 11.23.44 AM

Content: No language. Some kissing and one shirtless scene (she was going to wash the guy’s shirt and can’t help but notice how hansom he is rolls eyes). Very mild violence – it is there but nothing is really described.

I couldn’t help but see parallels in the story to Christianity.  It was probably not intended, and I can’t say much without giving the story away.  There was this beautiful scene where people cry out, and some people get discouraged because they don’t believe that it will do anything, but something does happen to help the villagers.  Ugh, did I just say too much?  I don’t know, but why are you still here anyway – Go read the book!!

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

  1. Rivka Ray says:

    I’m glad my review was helpful. I hope you enjoy it!!

    Like

  2. As an Asian American, I have to admit, I was excited to see this one online. I’ve never read anything by Richelle Mead, so I wasn’t sure about the content, but after reading your review, I’m definitely going to grab it from the library. Thanks so much! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dream it Alive says:

    Another book now added to me “Want to read” list. Thank you and also darn you. With love though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay! Thanks for the review!! I thought that this book looked really good, so it’s good to hear a great review on it!! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

