Novella Review: By Divine Right

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 9.07.06 PMTitle:  By Divine Right

Author: Patrick W. Carr

Series?  prequel novella to The DarkWater Saga

POV: First person, past tense, one narrator.

Cliffhanger?  It solves the immediate mystery, but it leads right into the series….

 

Author’s Website: http://www.patrickwcarr.com/

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

About the Book (from Goodreads)
Willet Dura ekes out a living as an assistant reeve in the city of Bunard, the royal city, investigating minor and not-so-minor crimes in the poor quarter. Ever since a terrible battle, Willet’s been drawn to the dead, and has an uncanny ability not only to solve their crimes, but even to know when one has been committed.

When a gifted singer is found dead in the merchants’ quarter of the city, everyone assumes by the signs that the old man simply died of a stroke, but Willet’s intuition tells him better. When he learns that this is the second death within the last month of one of the gifted, those with a rare inherited ability, he begins to suspect that something more is afoot, and he soon finds himself chasing a mystery that could bring down the very kingdom of Collum

My Thoughts
Honestly, I did not read the description before reading this novella.  I have had many people tell me how amazing The Staff and the Sword trilogy is.  Then I saw this free novella by the same author and decided to read it.  It is short and ebooks work best for me since school started.  I can just pull up the app anywhere and read a few pages instead of carrying another book around.

I was amazed by this book from the very beginning!  The writing drew me and and painted scenes well without being overly descriptive.  I loved the medieval fantasy feel of the story, though that might just be because this is my favorite genre at the moment.

The characters are vividly drawn, even the minor characters.  There was one little boy who was only in the story for one scene, yet his personality was clearly portrayed.  This said, some of the characters, including our protagonist had quite a bit of mystery surrounding them.  It definitely kept me reading to learn more about the characters.  There was one character in the king’s court that I did not like too much.  This had nothing to do with her being poorly written, but rather I found her very manipulative.  I was frustrated that the protaganist was drawn to her.  It will be interesting to see how this relationship plays out in this series.

This novella was wonderful overall.  It is definitely one of the best books I have read this year.  I cannot wait until The Shock of Night comes out!  I will definitely be watching for more books from this author and I am even more interested in The Staff and Sword trilogy!!

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

Leave a Reply

