Review: Five Enchanted Roses.

Five Enchanted RosesFor the past two years Rooglewood Press has had a writing contest based on a fairy tale. The first year was Cinderella re-tellings and this year is Beauty and the Beast. Would you love to be published? Next year they are doing Sleeping Beauty,here are more details for the contest.

I am sorry that the reviews are short and vague, but I don’t want to give any spoilers!

 

 

Esprit de la RoseEspirit de la Rose by Kaycee Browning 4/5 Stars


The setting Kaycee Browning created was very unique. I loved the spin on the Beauty and the Beast story! Mermaids? Creatures from the sea? Pirates? Definitely a different kind of Beauty and the Beast story than the norm!

My favorite character had to be Pepin. I felt like he was more developed than the main character, Cecilia. He has a French accent and every time he spoke I could “hear” the French.

The only reason I am giving this book four stars instead of five is because of the ending. I felt like the ending was left open for a whole other story, there wasn’t enough closure. Also why Pepin acted the way he did was very confusing. He explained it but I didn’t quite understand it.

 

WitherWhither by Savannah Jezowski. 3/5 stars.

I found this story interesting at first. Then it all grew into a big mess of confusion!

I did enjoy the ending, something finally made sense.

 

 

 

Stone Curse by Janelle Schmidt. 5/5 stars.Sonte Curse

Oh my goodness!! I love this one sooo much!! It was dark to begin with but quickly turned into a light read.

I loved the devotion of Karyna and Barend. Even though he wasn’t the man he once was she was still there for him, and he would protect her at any cost.

 

RosaraRosara and the Jungle King by Dorian Tsukioka. 4/5 Stars. Can I just give a big sigh? That ending though!!!

This was a different kind of Beauty and the Beast re-telling than I have ever read. A jaguar as the beast? Interesting…

I loved this story. I knocked off a star because I guessed the ending ;)


The Wulver’s Rose by Haydin Wand. 4/5 Wulver's RoseStars.
For this story I guessed everything that was going to happen… except for the roses. That part totally blew me away!

I enjoyed this sweet little tale a lot more than I expected.

 

 

Conclusion:
I love this collection of short stories a lot more than last year’s! I assume next year’s will
**I received a copy of this book from the publisher (Rooglewood Press) in exchange for my honest review**
About sierrafaith327

I am a 18 year old Christian, Homeschooled, book addict :D That sums me up in one sentence! I also have a love for horses.

Leave a Reply

