Novella Review: Glitches by Marissa Meyer

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 10.47.11 AM

Title:  Glitches

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series?  Prequel to Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles)

Cliffhanger?  Leads right into Cinder

POV: Third person, past tense, one perspectives

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

This novella is a prequel to Cinder and tells the story of Cinder moving in with the Linhs.  I read this novella after Cinder.  I plan on reading them in publication order, but you can hope over to Marissa Meyer’s post about what order these books should be read.

I am not a huge fan of novella prequels or other such stories.  I usually find them too short and lacking.  That was not the case with Glitches!  I found it beautiful and emotional.  Maybe it is because I read it immediately following Cinder, but I really could connect with the characters.

I have a greater respect for Peony now.  In Cinder I thought she was just a plot device, but in Glitches, we see how she treats Cinder from the beginning.  It was beautiful and heartbreaking to see Peony and Cinder trying to play together.  They are just young girls trying to have fun, but Adri does not see it that way.

This book also showed how Cinder learned mechanics by working on Iko.  While Iko’s humor is not really involved in the story, we do see the back story and why Cinder becomes connected to Iko.

Glitches is a great novella, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes the Lunar Chronicles.

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

4 thoughts on “Novella Review: Glitches by Marissa Meyer

  1. Claire B. says:

    How did I not know this existed!! reads other comments and scurries off to find it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gravy, I didn’t even realize this existed!!!! MUST FIND NOW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

