Review and Author interview.

Hello everyone! Today I am here with Jaye L Knight and a review of her newest book: Half-Blood.

Let’s get started!

How do you deal with writer’s block?

Writer’s block is the bane of my existence . . . well, that and my hair. :P But, anyway, my best way of dealing with writer’s block is to make myself sit down and write no matter how horrible it is. Granted, I can’t always manage to do this, but that’s usually how I break a bad bout of it. If I really need to be inspired, I usually listen to some epic music or watch a great movie, and sometimes that helps to spur me on.

 Forcing myself to write would be hard! Is there an author, or person, who inspired you to write?

My mom is my biggest inspiration. I don’t know if I ever would have started writing if I had not seen her writing first. (She’s been writing since she was in her teens.) As for an author, definitely J.R.R. Tolkien. Lord of the Rings is what started my love for fantasy.

 I am sad to say I still haven’t read anything by Tolkien.. What’s one of your favorite things about writing?

Characters! I just love characters. I love learning their personalities, quirks, and backstories. And I adore character relationships of all kinds, especially if they have very interesting dynamics.

I love your characters so much! Thanks for the interview :)

JayeAbout Jaye L Knight:

Jaye L. Knight is an award-winning author, homeschool graduate, and shameless tea addict with a passion for Christian fantasy. Armed with an active imagination and love for adventure, Jaye weaves stories of truth, faith, and courage with the message that even in the deepest darkness, God’s love shines as a light to offer hope. She has been penning stories since the age of eight and resides in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.

Website, Facebook and Goodreads.

Giveaway

Half BloodHalf-Blood by Jaye L Knight.

Genre(s): Christian, Fantasy.

Favorite Quote: “Yes…. but I don’t believe a certain type of blood decides what type of person you are. As for what you’ve done… that is now your past. Your future doesn’t have to be the same.”

Age Range: 15+ for violence.

POV: 3rd person, Jace.

My Thoughts:

This book was so good, yet incredibly sad! Jace is half Ryrik, a creature that lives to kill. He is forced to be a gladiator and soon has lost all hope of ever being more than a monster. A Ryrik. A creature without a soul. Jace is also half human, but that doesn’t matter to anyone, least of all his many slave owners. It was hard “seeing” how he was treated by his master and other people. So. Many. Emotions!

I really enjoy Jaye L Knight’s writing! This was the first book I read by her, and I was not disappointed. This is a prequel to Resistance. This is a depressing tale but leads you right into Resistance on a much happier note.

Jaye L. Knight says to read this after Resistance, but I would recommend reading this before Resistance just so you can connect more with Jace’s struggles and victories. I couldn’t imagine reading Resistance without having first read Half-Blood.

I received this book from the author (Jaye L. Knight) in exchange for my honest review

About sierrafaith327

I am a 18 year old Christian, Homeschooled, book addict :D That sums me up in one sentence! I also have a love for horses.

7 thoughts on “Review and Author interview.

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog and sharing your thoughts on Half-Blood! :D

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Rebecca says:

    Sierra, you really need to read some Tolkien….

    And now I want to read this series even more! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hulldanielle says:

    Totally did not know you were doing the interview first!

    Like

  4. I have long wanted to read Jaye L. Knight’s books! They sound fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

