Ask the Librarian

I’m a Librarian Assistant at my local library, and I thought it would be fun to give you a glimpse of the questions we can be asked.  I pretty much consider it to be like any customer service job.  Some of the things we get asked are weird, random, and amusing.

 

“Do you sell stamps?  No?  How about long envelopes?”

We are not a post office, but there is one two blocks down the street.

“I want to read this book, can you help me find it? I can’t remember the title, but the cover is green.”

There are a lot of books with green covers.

“If you get married, legally you don’t belong to your parents any more, right?  You change your last name, so your parents aren’t your parents any more, legally.  Isn’t that right?”

I seriously had someone ask this today……
I’m not a legal consultant, but that is the strangest notion I have ever heard!

“Do you have (insert title)”

That book does not come out for another two months.

Patron sitting on a computer asks “How do you spell (insert word)”

1. Just because I work at the library does not mean I can spell
2.  You are on a computer!!

 

Anyone else work at the library or do customer service work?  What are some of the most memorable questions you have been asked?

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

9 thoughts on “Ask the Librarian

  1. Ally R. says:

    That is awesome. Haha! “The cover is green.” You should have said, “Oh, I know exactly the one you’re talking about!” and plucked a random green book off the shelves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahah! That third one is my favorite. Someone was really desperate for advice. You probably looked quite knowledgeable. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I needed to laugh today! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sonja says:

    I am a librarian at the Family History Library. We have church records from around the world and we translate them for our guests. My favorite question why are these German records not in English so we could read them?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. XD That’s hilarious!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

