Book Review: Storm Siren by Mary Weber

book-storm-sirenTitle:  Storm Siren

Author: Mary Weber

Series?  Yes.  Book 1 of 3

Cliffhanger?  Yes!

POV: First person, present tense. One

Publisher: Thomas Nelson and Harper Collins

Author’s Website:
http://www.maryweber.com/

My Rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

About the book
In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.

As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.

Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.

But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?

Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

 

My Review

I find this book really hard to review, partly because I really wanted to like this book, and partly because the things that bother me now would not have bothered me two or three years ago.

The Protagonist
Nym has been a slave since she was six, but she is really sassy and defiant.  Perhaps that is because she has changed owners basically every year, but it is still hard to find believable.  She is also guilt ridden and stand-offish.  While I can understand her position, Nym is not the easiest person to like.  This is especially true in the first half of the book.  I was wishing for another POV, some one who could provide a broader view of the story and hopefully be a more likable character.  Nym’s character did develop as the plot progressed, so it became easier to get into the flow of the story.  It just took some time.

The Love Interest
Thankfully, this book does not have a love triangle!  The first time we are introduced to Eogan, I thought he would be my favorite character.  He was very no nonsense, and did not put up with Nym’s sass.  I actually found their interactions comical.  What I didn’t understand was why they fell in love.  Nym and Eogan argued constantly.  The only reason Nym gives for liking him is the fact that he is the most hansom man alive.  It was impossible to forget that Eogan has dark skin and green eyes, because Nym mentioned them every time she saw him.  Every. Single. Time.

Other Characters
Side characters were well done, and most had a backstory of their own.  These are more developed during the second half of the book, and it keeps you guessing on who Nym can trust.  I only wished we saw more characters in the story.  The 3 or 4 that we got to know played a large part in the plot.  Anyone who didn’t was barely a part of the story.

Plot
The plot was well done and moved the book along.  I did feel this book was plot driven. For most of the book, the characters actions are solely as consequence of the plot.  I didn’t feel that they actually made any decisions on there own, but were bounced from one thing to the next because the plot was moving forward.  A few years ago this would not have bothered me at all.  Now, I much prefer character driven stories.

World Building
The world building is not the greatest, but I was never bothered by that.  We know what we need to as the time comes.  I do wish the political tensions between the waring countries had been explored more.  Nym and Colin were to attend parties to understand the political atmosphere of the time.  I never felt like they learned anything at these parties, other than supporting character’s backstories.

Nym’s Powers
This was by far the best part of the book!  Nym’s powers are a cross between Elsa and Scarlet Witch and something else entirely.  Nym is an Elemental, which means she can control the elements around her.  At first she cannot control this power, but unleashes deadly storms when she is angered.  She learns to control these as the story progresses.  She learns to use different elements such as wind, ice, rain, and lightning.  I thought the battle scene at the end of the book was one of the best, and Nym’s powers had a lot to do with that!!

Other
I think the story could have had an additional 100 pages or more.  There was definitely more that could have been explored in this story that wasn’t, particularly more about supporting characters and the political unrest.  Until the end, we never really know why Nym should be fighting on for Fealan.  Eogan mentioned other people who have switched sides, so why shouldn’t Nym?  This is subtly addressed at the very end, but it could have been explored sooner in the story.

Conclusion 
Despite the problems present, I liked the story.  Not as much as I would have a few years ago when these things would not have bothered me, but I still liked it.  And I will be reading the next book.  Hopefully we will understand more of the tension between the waring countries and see more of the side characters!  Oh, and I do really want to know what happens after that cliffhanger!!

 

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Storm Siren by Mary Weber

  1. Ally R. says:

    I’ve been really interested in reading this for a while. The handsome “love” interest would probably bother me too, but the book sounds like it has its charm. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rebecca says:

      I have wanted to read this book ever since I saw that lovely cover before it was even published. But now I’m very conflicted!! I liked it, but I didn’t. ugh!

      I did read some reviews that said the love story is less present in the second book, which makes sense because umm, without spoiling it, the end of this book indicated that they will not be together as much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

