What Would Happen If the Inter-galactic Realm Spoke Shakespearian?

Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 8.46.43 AM

It might sound like a crazy idea, but I’m glad Ian Doescher did not think so.  He published this brilliant book series called William Shakespeare’s Star Wars.  They are the Star Wars episodes written in play style, like Shakespeare’s plays.  While they are written in old english, they are not hard to understand.

William-Shakespeares-Star-Wars-2
I first discovered these books two summers ago.  My library was undergoing major renovation, and the entire book collection had to be moved.  While helping with the move, my sister and I found William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope hidden in the stacks. While I thought the idea was cute, it was nothing more than a passing interest.

I’ll have to admit that I had not seen the Star Wars movies at the time. And I’m not a comic book person, so I did not know the stories at all. This probably had something to do with the reason I did not pick up Part the Forth at the library that day.

339592-light-sabre

Last Christmas break, I watched A New Hope for the first time.  It really is as great as everyone says!  I also won my first (and only) Goodreads giveaway that December.  It just happened to be Ian Doescher’s The Empire Striketh Back.  I excitedly read it.

 

empire-striketh-back

I wrote this after first reading The Empire Striketh Back:

I loved this book!! I liked it way more than I thought I would! It is fun, and hilarious, and very Star Wars, and very Shakespeare, and very brilliant!!! In fact, I think I enjoyed this book better than the movie. Who would have thought that Star Wars would make such a good Shakespeare? I only wish I could actually see the play preformed!!

I did see the movie when I was about half finished the book. I have to say, I kinda like this version better.
THE MOVIE DOES NOT HAVE THE CHARACTER SOLILOQUIES!!!!!
I just thought the internal conflict added depth.

 

If you like either Star Wars, or Shakespeare, or both, I’d recommend checking these books out!  They are  fun and entertaining.  Many smiles and laugh out loud moments may ensue!

5ca46412f6e37be5f6f9628aedc77696


“Our story endeth, though your hearts do burn,
And shall until the Jedi doth return.”

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

2 thoughts on “What Would Happen If the Inter-galactic Realm Spoke Shakespearian?

  1. amymagrath says:

    not freaking out

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

