Read-A-Thon

I participated in my first Read-A-Thon this last week! A read-a-thon is a time to catch up on your to-read pile, usually with a time limit (mine was the 18th-25th), and you set a certain goal you would like to reach. I was a part of #RYBSAT, read your bookshelf-a-thon. You pick a spot on your bookshelf and read it! I read seven books during the read-a-thon. Super happy with that number. Waaaay more than I anticipated on reading.

Here are all the books I read, and what I thought about them:

  1. moonbloodMoonblood was my first book for the read-a-thon; it is the third book in the Tales of Goldstone series. It is my least favorite so far in the series, and I’m giving it a four out of five star rating because it is still a really good book! I would recommend reading this series in order or else you would be very confused!

About the book: Desperate to regain the trust of his kingdom, Prince Lionheart reluctantly banishes his faithful servant and only friend, Rose Red. Now she is lost in the hidden realm of Arpiar, held captive by her evil goblin father, King Vahe.

2. bound Bound by Guilt is the second book in the Thicker than Blood trilogy. You can read this as a stand alone but you will have a better understanding of the characters if you read the first one. I enjoyed this book and everything I have read by C.J. I give this book 5/5 stars and will definitely read the next book in the series.

About the book:

Roxi Gold has been shuttled from one foster home to another for most her life. She longs for a family and will do anything to fit in even if it’s against the law. Soon she’s traveling the country in an RV, stealing rare books from unsuspecting bookstores. She knows it’s wrong, but if she refuses, she’ll be put out on the streets.

Police officer Abby Dawson has seen the worst of society, and not just at work. Her ex-husband wrested her daughter away from her in a bitter custody battle. The job she once loved has become a chore, the world isn’t any safer, and there’s no joy in her life. One fateful night a man’s innocent blood changes both Roxi’s and Abby’s lives forever.

3. Among the free Among the Free is the seventh and last book in the Shadow Children series. While aimed more toward tweens I really enjoyed the Shadow Children. I was really excited for the conclusion of the series but was sadly disappointed. I felt Luke had gotten stronger, less afraid and more eager throughout, yet in Among the Free, he went back to the coward he was in the beginning. This book was definitely my least favorite, and I give it 3/5 stars.

About the book: Luke Garner is a third-born in a restrictive society that allows only two children per family. Risking his life, he came out of hiding to fight against the Population Police laws. Now, in the final volume of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s suspenseful Shadow Children series, Luke inadvertently sets off a rebellion that results in the overthrow of the government. The people are finally free. But who is in charge now? And will this new freedom be everything they had hoped?

4. Starflower Starflower was definitely my favorite read during the read-a-thon. I will have a full review up soon, and I give it five out of five stars.

About the book: When a cursed dragon-witch kidnaps fairest Lady Gleamdren, the Bard Eanrin sets boldly forth on a rescue mission…and a race against his rival for Gleamdren’s favor. Intent upon his quest, the last thing the immortal Faerie needs is to become mixed up with the troubles of an insignificant mortal.

But when he stumbles upon a maiden trapped in an enchanted sleep, he cannot leave her alone in the dangerous Wood Between. One waking kiss later, Eanrin suddenly finds his story entangled with that of young Starflower. A strange link exists between this mortal girl and the dragon-witch. Will Starflower prove the key to Lady Gleamdren’s rescue? Or will the dark power from which she flees destroy both her and her rescuer?

5.  Cover-with-Blurb-201x300 Angel Eyes is definitely a new favorite! This is the first book in a trilogy, and I am reading the next two books in the series with Rebecca and another friend. YAY! I really enjoyed Shannon Dittemore’s writing, and her characters were very relatable. 5/5 stars from me! (Rebecca just did a review on this book yesterday! I agree with everything she said.)

About the book: Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

6.  Live Live Original was a devotional I read throughout the week. The message Sadie spoke was amazing! She talked about being true to yourself and being confident. She also addresses fear, anxiety, friendships and other relationships! Each chapter starts with scripture and there are verses all throughout the book! Definitely 5/5 stars.

About the book: Sadie lives by a simple list of principles that lead her to personal and spiritual growth and allow the relationships she has with her friends and family to flourish. These values include think happy, be happy; dream big; shake the hate; do something; and many more.

7.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I finished this book right before the read-a-thon ended. I really enjoyed The Hunger Games and can’t wait to read the second one! I gave it 4/5 stars because I felt like some of the parts really dragged, especially toward the end!

About the book: The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

There you have it! What I read doing my first read-a-thon! Hope you enjoyed!

Sierra

P.S. I will be doing a guest post every Wednesday at my friend Allie’s blog! Tomorrow will be my first day if you wanna check it out :)

About sierrafaith327

I am a 18 year old Christian, Homeschooled, book addict :D That sums me up in one sentence! I also have a love for horses.

5 thoughts on “Read-A-Thon

  1. Ooh, so awesome! You’ve gotten a lot of reading done! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

