Book Review: Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

Cover-with-Blurb-201x300Title:  Angle Eyes

Author: Shannon Dittemore

Series?  Yes.  Book 1 of 3

Cliffhanger?  No.

POV: First person, present tense.  Multiple perspectives.

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

 

 

My rating: 5 stars

About the Book:

Brielle went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

(from back cover)

 

My Review:

Cannot stop thinking about this book. I actually started re-reading it less than a month after I finished it. I never re-read books that soon!! I just can’t get over the beautiful writing, and the amazing story!!

This book really surprised me. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I liked it more than I thought I would.  This book gets points for exceeding expectations! :)

The Plot:
I was drawn in right way to this small town. There was an element of mystery surrounding Brielle’s past and the new guy in town. The pacing was perfect. It was nice and steady, but gradually because more interesting as the story progressed.

The Protagonist:
I really like Brielle! She was realistic and her emotions seemed real. She was also very intelligent. She struggled with her belief in the Celestial realm, but as her eyes were opened, she was willing to learn more about it.

The Love Interest:
I absolutely loved Jake! Not the I must have him for myself kind of loved him, but he was perfect for Brielle. The mystery surrounding him made him even more interesting. I also found him to be incredibly patient. He loves Brielle, but is not pushy about it. He seems fine with taking it slow.

Favorite Character:
Canaan!!!! Well, first off, he’s an angel. So of course he is awesome!! There were times I wished we heard from his POV more.

The Writing:
The writing was beautiful. Very lyrical. I’ll admit it took me the first few pages to find the flow and get into the story, but after that I quite enjoyed it. Then there were the cringe worthy pop culture references that seemed forced, and some other clichés, but nothing that can’t be overlooked.

I didn’t want to put the book down, but I also didn’t want the story to end!! I’m glad this is the first book in the series. It does not have to end with the conclusion of this book! :D

About Rivka Ray

I am a book loving college student who never has enough time to read. I am also in love with all things Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

Leave a Reply

