Review: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

An Uncertain Choice

About the book: Due to her parents’ promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, a month before her birthday, a friend of her father’s enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents’ will left a second choice. If Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow. Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the competition for her heart seemingly results in a knight playing foul, she begins to wonder if the cloister is the best place after all. If only one of the knights the one who appears the most guilty had not already captured her heart.

My thoughts: Genre(s): Teen, Historical Fiction, and Romance.

Favorite Quote: “Courage can be displayed in many forms, my lord,” I said gently. “Sometimes it’s evident in the knight char going forward with the lance on his steed. But perhaps it can also take the form of a head bowed down before the enemy.”

Age Range: Because of the violence and romance I would recommend this for ages 15+

POV: First person, Rosemarie, 17. main character A couple paragraphs are shown from a Knight’s point of view.

Stars: 3/5

Pros: I loved how Rosemarie wanted to be a kind, strong, leader! It was awesome how she cared for her people and wanted them to have the best. She wasn’t selfish at all and would have gladly given all of her wealth away. And I loved the three knights. They sounded so dreamy, and just ((Sigh)). I liked their courage and loyalty to one another.

Cons: I had my expectations high for this book, and they were not met. I followed the blog tour and was excited about the three knights. All the blogs made who she was going to marry sound like some big mystery, but it wasn’t. Which was disappointing. I didn’t feel like I connected with Rosemarie, the main character. Instead of feeling like her best friend I felt like a stranger on the sideline. You know the books and movies where it is blatantly obvious who the bad guy is, and everyone knows but the main character? That’s what this book felt like. Which it shouldn’t have since it was in first person.

Sierra

About sierrafaith327

I am a 18 year old Christian, Homeschooled, book addict :D That sums me up in one sentence! I also have a love for horses.

One thought on “Review: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

  1. […] first official post was a review of An Uncertain Choice by Jody […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

